Uncategorized

43 Year Old Iowan with Crohns, Fibromyalgia: “There is little doctors can do for my pain”

Here’s another testimonial from an Iowan who wishes to remain anonymous. Follow WeedPress on Facebook. If you’d like your story heard by legislators this next session, email me at jkarimi2007@hotmail.com, or write to me on the Iowa Patients for Medical Marijuana Facebook page. You can remain anonymous if you’d like. I’ll publish your story here on WeedPress and make sure politicians see it next year.

Over 1,000 Iowans have signed this petition to support medical cannabis. If you haven't signed yet, click this picture for link to petition.

Over 1,000 Iowans have signed this petition to support medical cannabis. If you haven’t signed yet, click this picture for link to petition.

“I am a 43 year old woman who has been diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease and Fibromyalgia . I have a rare form of Crohn’s as it is mainly in my joints. This disease took me down at age 40. It came out of nowhere and suddenly I was disabled. I have been on so many medications that have either given me pancreatitis or hospitalized me for heart conditions. I am in pain every day. I went from walking and jogging to a person who uses a wheelchair on bad days and a walker on good days. My eyesight is also going and I am numerous other conditions linked to the 12 medicines I take a day. I have missed out on so many times with my children because I am in too much pain. There is little the doctors can do for my pain. I have been told that I just have to deal with it, this is my new life. Our family is considering moving to a state where I can receive pain relief in the form of medical cannabis. I love this state but the pain is severe and I am homebound. I am only 43 and would like to have my life back.”

If you'd like to anonymously share your story with Legislators, write us on the IP4MM Facebook page, or email me at jkarimi2007@hotmail.com.

If you’d like to anonymously share your story with Legislators, write us on the IP4MM Facebook page, or email me at jkarimi2007@hotmail.com.

Discussion

One thought on “43 Year Old Iowan with Crohns, Fibromyalgia: “There is little doctors can do for my pain”

  1. Aloha,

    I am terribly sorry to hear of your diagnosis. I am even more disgusted that a community I once belonged to, A.K.A. Western Medicine, has given you such an absolute answer. I was born and raised in south central Iowa where the idea of using cannabis is still regarded as extremely criminal and dangerous. 9 years ago I was in a single car accident that nearly ended my life and left me dealing with chronic pain. I had been told that this would be my life. I told myself that I would never be satisfied with that answer and so I rejected it. The facts are as follows.

    I had been taking large quantities of narcotics for 6 years and dealing with the side effects of opioids daily when I finally decided to make a change. My wife and I sold everything we had and moved to Hawaii. I had done my homework before coming here and had decided that I wanted to try medical cannabis. Because the state of Hawaii does not allow dispensaries, as of yet, I had to grow my own. This was not a problem as I had a very extensive farming background. I can say that 3 years after moving to Hawaii I have eliminated ALL prescription medication including blood pressure medicines. I live a meager existence and make little to no money, but I have little to no pain. That is right, after 27 fractures of which 3 were lower lumbar and 5 pelvic breaks, I have very little pain. VERY LITTLE PAIN. I do not have to tell you what it was like for me to not actually feel pain for the first time. I cried for almost an hour in complete joy.

    I use a tincture which I make myself from the flower of the cannabis plant. I use a strain that is quite high in CBD’s and fairly low in THC. It is literally one of the best medicines we have had for hundreds of years and yet we have all been forced to swallow a giant dose of lies. Our thoughts and beliefs are that of multiple generations of lies and propaganda passed down in order to better serve a system of corruption and greed. That is what going to medical school taught me. Sorry about my rant.

    I believe that so so many people could be benefiting from the use of medicinal cannabis, including yourself. I am at a point where I believe in it so much that I am about ready to become a spokesperson for it. I have studied all of the scientific journals I can find on cannabis research, which are few and far between because of the laws, and nothing I have seen or experienced make me believe it is anything but a godsend.

    As for Iowa, I don’t foresee cannabis being legal there, for any reason, in the near future. If you want a quality of life back I suggest thinking about a move. I know this is very hard, but I was ready to take my own life at one point and now I love my life. I am so impossibly disgusted with the medical community for keeping this from people like you that I don’t even reference to the fact that I studied nursing and internal medicine for seven years. I am not the smartest person in the world, but I know this, if something works when all else fails, maybe it is time we open our eyes. I have traveled to other states where cannabis is legal and have met many patients who have benefited in ways that I still have a hard time believing. I just want you to know that there is hope, and it is in the form of a simple oil created from the most beautiful flower on earth; Marijuana.

    ADC
    MPsy, BSN

    P.S. If you would like any more information, please reply to this with an email and I will contact you from there. Aloha

    Posted by Can Nabis | January 13, 2014, 9:51 pm

Leave a Reply

