Uncategorized

Iowa Veteran Writes WeedPress Anonymously: “I Have Been Prescribed Several Highly Addicting Medications”

The following is a letter from an Iowa veteran who wishes to remain anonymous.

Follow WeedPress on Facebook. If you’d like your story heard by legislators this next session, email me at jkarimi2007@hotmail.com. Don’t put anything incriminating in your letter, and you can remain anonymous if you’d like. I’ll publish your story here on WeedPress and make sure politicians see it next year.

arresting patients

“I served in the military from February 22, 2000 to December 31, 2005. I did one tour in Iraq. Since coming home I have been diagnosed with Partial Complex Seizure Disorder believed to be caused by an IED blast. I have also been diagnosed with PTSD and several related issues.

I have been prescribed several highly addicting medications from the VA and several seizure medications. The seizure medication I found that works elevates my thyroid hormone up to 500% and caused me to develop gynecomastia and have male breast development and sore nipples for a couple years. I recently started taking the medication about once every 5 days to once a week and gained 15 pounds and lowered the tenderness in my nipples to the point it disappears occasionally. During rougher times I self medicated with marijuana. I found relief from the seizures and social anxieties, hypervigilance and other problems. I now rely on the seizure medication that has serious side effects.

I have three choices now. Take a medication that has severe side effects. Risk being put in jail. Or do what I am doing and ration my seizure medication.

Allowing medical cannabis would also allow me to treat my PTSD and other symptoms including anxiety, hypervigiliance and paranoia. I have the same three options. The only difference between treating my seizures and PTSD is that the medications prescribed to me to treat it were all highly addicting, changed my personality, clouded my thinking and had more severe side effects.

Please legalize medical cannabis.”

Follow WeedPress on Facebook. If you’d like your story heard by legislators this next session, email me at jkarimi2007@hotmail.com. Don’t put anything incriminating in your letter, and you can remain anonymous if you’d like. I’ll publish your story here on WeedPress and make sure politicians see it next year.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

