Uncategorized

Iowa Cancer Patient: “I Have To Go Against The Laws. I’m a Church-Going Person.”

“I have pancreatic cancer. I have thyroid cancer. I’m in Stage IV. I don’t know how much longer I have left…

I called down here first. I’m 67 years old, and I lost my mother last year at 90 with colon cancer, and I was afraid. I don’t have a record, a police record, and I called, and I asked the lady, “Will there be police officers there?” And she said no.

So I came down just to ask you, please, legalize it for medical use because I lost, from January until March, 65 pounds…I have to go against the laws. I don’t want to do that. I’ve never done that. I’m a church-going person, and I love the Lord. I don’t want to do things like that.

But I don’t want the pain. I can’t take the pain. They told me if I get blocked up again, I’ll have to come in, and they’ll have to put hoses down my nose to suck the bile out of me, and I can’t go through that. I’m going to die first. I won’t go through that.

I beg you from the bottom of my heart to please understand this makes me feel better. I don’t have the pain, and I can eat some food, and I don’t throw up. Thank you.

This is from Merlyn Cordes 2009 testimony at the Iowa Board of Pharmacy hearing on medical cannabis in Des Moines. Testimony available here on pages 168 – 170.

Follow WeedPress on Facebook. If you’d like your story heard by legislators this next session, email me at jkarimi2007@hotmail.com. Don’t put anything incriminating in your letter, and you can remain anonymous if you’d like. I’ll publish your story here on WeedPress and make sure politicians see it next year.

Here’s video of Merlyn Cordes speech courtesy of Jimmy Morrison:

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

