Uncategorized

[VIDEO] Paralyzed From Neck Down, Fairfield Woman Asks Legislators To Legalize Medical Cannabis — HeartLandConnection.com

Meet Maria Smallow.

Maria Smallow: "What can I do? There's no drug available that would be suitable for me."

Maria Smallow: “What can I do? There’s no drug available that would be suitable for me.”

Maria, who is paralyzed from the neck down due to degenerative disk disease, was recently interviewed by KTVO News. From Legalizing Marijuana Would Give Fairfield Woman Peace of Mind, Good Night’s Sleep:

“Maria Smallow of Fairfield is paralyzed from the neck down due to a degenerative disease. She has been on pain killers for over 20 years, and she says she is tired of taking pills.

“It’s needed… for people that are sick like me,” she said. “What can I do? I’m in pain, in discomfort. I don’t want to take Oxycontin. I don’t want to become a drug addict, I have no alternative. I don’t want to become a drunk, by drinking. There’s no drug available that would be suitable for me.”

Smallow said that representatives and legislators in the capital are too concerned with teenagers and youths. She stressed that she is not a “pothead” and wouldn’t abuse the drug. She just wants peace of mind.” Full Article Here

Below is video of Maria’s interview with KTVO TV:

Maria has also written a letter to the editors of the Ottumwa Courier after she was unable to give testimony to legislators at a medical marijuana hearing earlier this year due to her degenerative disk disease. From Legislators Need To Remember Who They Represent:

On Jan. 30, the Legislature of Iowa was holding a public hearing on medical marijuana. I contacted them in advance expressing my strong desire to give testimony…

Because I am paralyzed from the neck down and bedridden, I was physically unable to attend the hearing, which was quite far from my home. Read Full Letter to the Editor Here

If you were unable to attend medical cannabis hearings and would like to have your testimony read by legislators next year, email me at jkarimi2007@hotmail.com. Don’t put anything incriminating in your letter. I’ll post it on WeedPress, and you can remain anonymous if you’d like. Follow WeedPress on Facebook for more patient testimonials.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

