Uncategorized

Iowa Crohns Patient To Iowa Legislature: “Cannabis Could Help Me and Thousands Of Iowans Live a Better Life”

The politicians want to hear stories like this from patients here in Iowa! Email me at jkarimi2007@hotmail.com if you’re an Iowan who would like to have your story heard here on WeedPress!

Meet Brian Chalupa.

Brian Chalupa: "Over the last 12 years I have associated food with pain, gas, bloating, and diarrhea. Cannabis is the only known substance that could help me add some weight to my gaunt 6 foot 147 pound frame."

Brian Chalupa: “Over the last 12 years I have associated food with pain, gas, bloating, and diarrhea. Cannabis is the only known substance that could help me add some weight to my gaunt 6 foot 147 pound frame.”

Brian grew up in Washington County and now resides in Johnson County. Brian has tried to discuss cannabis with his doctor, but says his doctor is hesitant to speak with him about cannabis due to its illegality. Brian saw my post on the Iowa Patients for Medical Marijuana Facebook page asking for patients to come forward and share there stories. Thanks to Brian’s courage, 16 month old Maggie, 11 year old Quincy and countless cancer patients seeking a cure have another public ally in their fight for their health and sanity.

Brian wrote to me this morning:

Jason,

I’m a 38 y.o. Iowan that was diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease nearly 12 years ago. Many are not familiar with Crohn’s. It’s an autoimmune disease similar to arthritis in which the body attacks its own healthy tissue. Unlike arthritis, Crohn’s causes inflammation of the small intestine. I’ve been on countless medications over the years with very little success.

About 4 years ago I had to have about 6 feet of my small bowel and most of my large bowel removed. I lived for 3 months with a colostomy bag hanging out of my stomach to collect stool while my intestines healed from the surgery. They removed a portion that was fused together in the shape of a softball from years of inflammation. I currently take a medication named Cimzia, that I have to inject subcutaneously every 2 weeks. This costs a little over $2,000 a month. This drug suppresses my immune system and helps for the most part. I also take 100mg of Mercaptopurine tablets daily. This drug also helps suppress the immune system to weaken it’s threat to my intestines. Mercaptopurine causes daily nausea, but helps, so I continue to gag through my days.

How could medical marijuana help me personally? One of the side effects of cannabis consumption is an increase in appetite. Over the last 12 years I have associated food with pain, gas, bloating, and diarrhea. Cannabis is the only known substance that could help me add some weight to my gaunt 6 foot 147 pound frame. Cannabis could help with my daily nausea while taking the dreaded Mercaptopurine doses.

Living with Crohn’s Disease has also created a depression and added anxiety that cannabis has been know to help patients with. There is another chemical in cannabis called Cannibidol or CBD. This is the non-psychoactive chemical in cannabis. Studies in Israel have shown cannabis to put Crohn’s patients into complete remission (the ultimate goal). This is because the CBD in cannabis helps with inflammation in the body. Concentrated CBD oils have also been shown to cure cancer and have been used for severe epilepsy patients.

I shouldn’t have to move from my family and friends, just to have access to a plant that could make my life far more comfortable and possibly enjoyable again. It might even cure my disease all together. While doing all of this, it would be doing no harm what so ever to me or any body around me. Reefer Madness was a complete sham and I’m smart enough to do what ever I need to, in order to live my life happy and healthy. It doesn’t matter what the Iowa Board of Pharmacy or our State Capital do or say. I know that cannabis could help me and thousands of Iowans live a better life.

Thanks for your time,

Brian Chalupa

If you want change, you must get involved. Send us your stories!

If you want change, this is our time. Send us your stories! Don’t put anything incriminating, and you can remain anonymous if you’d like.

Thanks for your courage Brian! Politicians have asked for stories like this, and it’s up to all of us to give it to them. Follow WeedPress on Facebook for more patient stories. Write to me at jkarimi2007@hotmail.com, or leave a message/post on the WeedPress page. I’ll get back to you as soon as I can. Thanks for reading…now REPOST far and wide!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

