Current Events, Politics

Michele Bachmann Confused by Medical Marijuana Question at Drake University

As the Des Moines Register reported, I caught up with Michelle Bachmann yesterday to ask her about medical marijuana and states rights…and found myself listening to a Presidential candidate explain to me that she doesn’t know what role the federal government plays.

Here’s the Register’s take on the conversation:

“Jason Karimi, director of Iowa Patients for Medical Marijuana, took the opportunity to ask Bachmann about whether the state’s rights extended to regulation of medical marijuana.

Amidst the hubbub of the post-event autograph signing, Bachmann responded, “I don’t know if that’s something the federal government can weigh in on or not. I don’t know. I agree with state’s rights too, but I’m not sure if that’s something that has federal implications or not. I haven’t thought it through.”

Karimi took that as a non-answer.” –“Michele Bachmann Finds Cooler Crowd at Drake University” Des Moines Register

Me: “If Iowa was to legalize medical marijuana in accordance with the Iowa Board of Pharmacy recommendation, would you respect states rights if you were President of the United States?”

Michelle Bachmann speaking with me yesterday about medical marijuana. Photo courtesy of Jason Noble/Des Moines Register.

Bachmann: “You know, I’d have to think about that some more. I don’t know if I can give an answer on that one.”

Me: “You can’t give an answer on that?”

Bachmann: “I don’t know if I can give an answer–I’m not–because I don’t– I don’t know if that’s something that the federal government can weigh in on or not. I don’t know. I agree with states rights too but I’m not sure if that’s something that has federal implications or not. I haven’t thought it through. Once I think it through I’ll give you an answer but I haven’t thought it through.”

Follow WeedPress on Facebook for upcoming articles.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

