Current Events, Politics, Scandals

Huffington Post: Blackberry Video of Herman Cain “Dodging” Medical Marijuana Question at 2011 Ames Straw Poll

Click here to see my YouTube video in the Huffington Post.

Click here to see my YouTube video in the Huffington Post.

I went to the Ames Straw Poll a couple months ago to vote for Rick Parry (#colbertnation shoutout). While I was there, Marni Steadham of Students for Sensible Drug Policy and I ran into Herman Cain, and attempted to ask him for a position on medical marijuana. We recorded the encounter with my Blackberry video and put it on YouTube…and now the encounter is in the Huffington Post!

The Huffington Post article, What Republican Presidential Candidates Say About Legalizing Marijuana (SLIDESHOW), had this to say about Herman Cain’s stance:

“Businessman Herman Cain has not given a public statement on medical marijuana, dodging questions on the issue during the 2011 Ames Straw Poll.”

Watch it here.

If you click “Watch it Here,” my YouTube video of of Herman Cain dashing off in a golf cart is shown, previously posted on WeedPress (see Rick Santorum Responds to Marijuana, States Rights Questions at 2011 Ames Straw Poll; Bachmann, Cain, Refuse to Answer). Here’s the video of Herman Cain’s golf cart escape:

“Have a nice day?” What a coward!

While the former CEO of Godfathers recently told Fox News he’s “Not afraid to call it like it is,” Cain obviously prefers to stick to his talking points rather than discuss controversial issues such as medical marijuana. Shortly before his political advisers dragged him away in a golf cart, Herman Cain explained why he’s running for office in his twelve minute scripted speech at the Strong America Now tent:

I did not grow up saying I wanted to run for President. That was not my lifelong dream, my lifelong dream was make me some money. I was broke. I wanted to make some money. I know it’s materialistic but when you don’t have any money, it’s also spiritualistic…if you’re broke! And so I have achieved my American dreams, most of you have achieved your American dreams. We’ve gotta make sure that our kids and our grandkids can achieve their American dreams. That’s what this is about. It’s also about solving Americas problems. –Herman Cain, Ames Straw Poll 2011

Good to know, Mr. Cain. If you’re reading this, I’m still waiting for a position on medical marijuana. When you get the courage to truly “call it like it is,” free to “like” WeedPress on Facebook. You’re welcome to leave a statement about your position there. Good luck dodging voters questions in the future, and please sir, “have a nice day!”

Discussion

One thought on “Huffington Post: Blackberry Video of Herman Cain “Dodging” Medical Marijuana Question at 2011 Ames Straw Poll

Leave a Reply

