Current Events, Legal

Labor Day Weekend: Oaksterdam University Seminar in Ann Arbor, Michigan

I received an email this weekend about a medical marijuana seminar and wanted to pass it along to fellow activists here in Iowa.

An opportunity to network and learn about the medical marijuana movement with Oaksterdam University in Ann Arbog, Michigan will be taking place over the Labor Day Weekend. Tammy Schnock asked me to pass this message along to any other Iowans who might be interested in making the trip:

Click here for registration details for Oaksterdam University's Labor Day Weekend Seminar.

Hi Jason,

I subscribe to your Weedpress blog, so I thought I might contact you with this information.

I just sent a message to Jimmy Morrison on Facebook too. I met Jimmy and Gary Johnson when they were in Waterloo last year during Ragbrai. I had visited with them at that time about my situation with medical marijuana. Jimmy had asked if I would be willing to share my story, and at that time I was still in legal proceedings and unable to go completely public. All that has passed now, and I am still pursuing the legal aspects of promoting medical marijuana. The reason I am contacting you now is because I am attending the Oaksterdam University Seminar that is taking place in Michigan over the Labor Day weekend, and I was wondering if you knew of anyone else who may be attending or interested to attend. I would be open to a ride share or motel room share. I also have potential funding available for the Seminar registration if anyone is interested. Please let me know your thoughts, and please pass this information along to anyone who would be interested in this professional opportunity to learn about, promote and support the legalization of medical marijuana.

I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Tam

While I’m unable to go, others might be interested in this opportunity to learn about the medical marijuana movement. Seminar topics include:

  • Politics and History, Federal and State Legal Issues, Working with your Local Government, Civics
  • Horticulture
  • Methods of Ingestion: Cooking, Extracts and Concentrates
  • Vaporizing, Medical Applications for Mainstream Medicine
  • Becoming a qualified Patient or Caregiver
  • Michigan’s medical marijuana movement has had some interesting news recently. Last Wednesday, Michigan’s Court of Appeals ruled commercial marijuana sales are illegal (The State News, 8-27). The full opinion of People v McQueen et al is available here.

    The court’s ruling found that the Michigan Medical Marijuana Act does not permit patient-to-patient “sales,” stating:

    The “delivery” or “transfer” of marihuana is only one component of the “sale” of marihuana—the “sale” of marihuana consists of the “delivery” or “transfer” plus the receipt of compensation. The “medical use” of marihuana, as defined by the MMMA, allows for the “delivery” and “transfer” of marihuana, but not the “sale” of marihuana.

    The Michigan Association of Compassion Centers, represented by Newburg Law, PLLC, said today that they plan to appeal the ruling to Michigan’s Supreme Court. Oaksterdam’s timely seminar should have some interesting commentary on the Court’s ruling. If anyone decides to go with Tammy, feel free to let me know how it goes by emailing me at jkarimi2007@hotmail.com. And while you’re at it, “Like” WeedPress on Facebook for the latest updates on other important medical marijuana cases!

    Discussion

    No comments yet.

    Leave a Reply

