Current Events, Legal, Politics, Religious freedom, Rescheduling

Legalization vs. Patients: Responding to Ryan Thompson’s 26-Minute Video

Apparently activist Ryan Thompson opposes medical marijuana.

Ryan read his response to some of my questions in a Youtube Video the other day, which I’ve linked below. I watched the video today. Here’s some responses.

Beginning of the video:

Ryan: “Debating with Jason Karimi…who is trying to get cannabis rescheduled. I for years have said I’m not in agreement with rescheduling.”

This is an incorrect statement of my position. I, like Ryan, do not want to see cannabis be placed into any part of the CSA.

However, our reasoning is different. Ryan seems to encourage illegal medical use until we reach a day of full legalization, and is opposed to medical marijuana as he sees it as an impediment to full legalization. (2:50 of the video: “Ultimately my point is that cannabis can be legalized without any medical argument whatsoever.” At the 21:00 mark: “I don’t support further medicalization of cannabis.”” ).

"Ultimately, rescheduling is a good thing." Couldn't have said it better myself, Paul.


So while Ryan and I agree that marijuana doesn’t belong in the CSA at all, my reasoning is different than his legalization-only argument: smoked marijuana does not fit any of the requirements in any of the schedules, and thus, does not belong in the CSA in the first place.

Unlike Ryan, I would never throw patients under the bus just to achieve legalization in the long run. Unlike Ryan, I agree with Paul Armentano of NORML, who has recently said that “Ultimately rescheduling is a good thing.” Unlike Ryan, I understand that the whole point of “rescheduling” is to “unschedule” marijuana. I think his confusion in my stance on this issue has been the major source of tension between us in our discussions so far.

Ryan also does not fully understand how the rescheduling strategy works, nor how it affects patients. Ryan seems to think that Oregon’s rescheduling of marijuana at the state level is all that is needed to prove medical marijuana has “accepted medical use” at the federal level. I’ll write a blog post explaining why the Oregon Board of Pharmacy doesn’t understand how rescheduling works (they’ve said as much), and why Oregon needs to petition the federal government to protect patients.

Anyways, here’s the video…

Ryan,

Please read the remedy (i.e., “solution”) demanded in the brief filed today; this is the remedy that this strategy is seeking to achieve:

DECLARATORY JUDGMENT WILL REDRESS THE INJURY

The penalties in Iowa Code § 124.401 require that marijuana be a controlled substance. The effect of declaratory judgment striking marijuana from schedule I will leave marijuana unscheduled, making it legal for both religious and medical use. The remaining language in Iowa Code 124.206(7)(a), would make marijuana a schedule II controlled substance if the Iowa Board of Pharmacy adopted any rules making it legal for medical use. See Bonjour, 694 N.W.2d at 513 (“The defendant does not contend, and we do not believe, that the Board of Pharmacy Examiners has adopted any rules that would make marijuana use legal”). Because the Iowa Board of Pharmacy has not adopted any rules making medical use of marijuana legal, in effect, marijuana would immediately be unscheduled and legal for the petitioners to use as they see fit. This would not be an unusual result, because the majority of the 16 States that currently accept the medical use of marijuana allow it to be grown by medical patients. These 16 State laws are consistent with the DEA Chief Administrative Law Judge’s finding in DEA Docket No. 86-22 (Sept. 6, 1988), “Marijuana, in its natural form, is one of the safest therapeutically active substances known to man” [found at http://www.iowamedicalmarijuana.org/pdfs/young.pdf%5D (Olsen requests the court take judicial notice that his name is listed on the cover of this ruling).

Like I said…Iowa’s doing it right.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Legalization vs. Patients: Responding to Ryan Thompson’s 26-Minute Video

  1. “Unlike Ryan, I would never throw patients under the bus just to achieve legalization in the long run.”

    really, that’s exactly what your daddy Carl has been doing for 20 yrs+…..Ryan never thru anyone under any bus. Remember Jason, as you once told a judge, in court to defend your use of marijuana, “I’m just a stupid stoner”. Go ahead call me a hippie or some other names that won’t hurt me. One thing we can’t call you or Carl, is a parent, who repopulated the earth. One thing I will say with confidence, is that you are both fools.

    Posted by Ray Lakers | August 9, 2011, 3:21 am
  2. Then why was it reported in the paper….I’ll go dig up the article fool.

    Posted by Ray Lakers | August 9, 2011, 6:53 am
    • Thanks Ray!

      Posted by jsnsoc8 | August 9, 2011, 7:40 am
      • > From: AJaco@desmoine.gannett.com
        > To: jkarimi2007@hotmail.com
        > Date: Wed, 14 Apr 2010 10:13:59 -0700
        > Subject: Re:
        >
        > Yes, I caught the sarcasm, sorry it doesn’t always translate in print. What did Story County do with you?
        >
        >
        > On 4/14/10 11:58 AM, “j smith” wrote:
        >
        > I was discharged from probation in Warren County, instead of having my suspended sentence imposed. The “I’m an idiot pothead” was meant to be sarcastic.
        >
        > > From: AJaco@desmoine.gannett.com
        > > To: jkarimi2007@hotmail.com
        > > Date: Wed, 14 Apr 2010 09:44:40 -0700
        > > Subject: Re:
        > >
        > > Hey Jason, good to hear from you. No, it wouldn’t be archived online. I’ve attached the Word document. Are you out of jail? If so, how’d that happen? I never did get an update from Story Co. on the outcome of your probation revocation hearing there… Let me know.
        > >
        > >
        > >
        > >
        > > On 4/14/10 11:41 AM, “j smith” wrote:
        > >
        > > Is there a link to the news article that was published after I was in jail? I can’t seem to find it on the internet.

        Posted by jsnsoc8 | August 9, 2011, 7:45 am
  3. “Apparently activist Ryan Thompson opposes medical marijuana. ”

    Well thanks for at very least posting my response via the video. Since I addressed this issue in the video.

    I do oppose any more rescheduling, I do not oppose “medical marijuana”.

    I just don’t think marijuana needs to be medicalized as what is being called for in the petition that you and Carl are working on to “take cannabis out of schedule I, and place it in a lower schedule”… Cannabis doesn’t need to be scheduled not even in a lower schedule any more than ginseng, thyme, echenacia or rosemary.

    And consenting to the “lower schedule” is not something Im willing to do either.

    Got my server back up. and my youtube videos are at http://youtube.com/xcannabiscom

    I have been addressing this issue long before meeting with you or Carl on the radio, etc..

    Peace and Liberty!

    BTW- I am a patient with a life long debilitating condition. Cannabis is my medicine.

    Posted by XCannabis Sa Bhaile | August 10, 2011, 10:56 pm

Leave a Reply

