Current Events, Legal, Politics

ACLU letter to Obama: New memo might mean litigation

Looks like I’m not the only one peeved at Obama’s abrupt departure from his 2009 promise to back down on medical marijuana prosecutions. Now, in a recent letter to the Department of Justice, the ACLU Wants DOJ To Keep Medical Marijuana Promises.

“The ACLU sent a letter to Attorney General Eric Holder demanding that the Obama administration live up their repeated promise not to prosecute people for using medical marijuana in compliance with state and local laws.”
–Michigan Messenger

Obama seemed supportive of medical marijuana, and the 2009 memo seemed like a huge step forward. Now, Obama has insulted his constituents by taking a huge step backwards.

However, rewatching Obama’s interview with the MPP back in 2008, maybe I shouldn’t be so surprised.



“I would not punish doctors if prescribed in a way that was appropriate. That may require some changes in federal law. I want to be honest with you: whether I want to use a lot of political capital on that issue, while we’re trying to get healthcare passed and the War in Iraq, is uh, yep. The likelihood of that being real high on my list is uh, not likely.”

So, Obama has higher priorities. He recognizes a simple change of Federal Law would take care of this issue, but doesn’t want to push it. Ok, you’re a politician. Fair enough. Looks like We The People will have to do the job and fix this mess.

However, patients deserve better than being delegated to the bottom of the totem pole I’ll dub “political capital prioritizing,” or PCP. This is just sad. Science should be based on science, not politics. A simple change in federal law, which Obama could easily and painlessly effect, would stop this travesty that passes for “justice” these days. A man here in Iowa was just fired for a dirty urine analysis at his job. He has chronic pain, and little to no recourse legally. This man’s family is now suffering due to politics. My anger cannot be conveyed with mere words.

I would end this post with the last thing Obama said in this interview of with The Marijuana Policy Project. You tell me if Obama is a politician who can be trusted. Based on this statement (not to mention my list of his other failures, lies, and political double-talk), I regret my vote for Obama. Feels like I voted for George W. Bush the way things have been going…


“What I’m not going to be doing is using justice department resources to try to circumvent state laws on this issue, simply because I want folks to be investigating, violent crimes and, potential terrorism. We’ve got a lot of things for our law enforcement officers to deal with.”

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

